We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Losing Places / Losing Places (Isan remix)

by The Leaf Library

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £1 GBP  or more


  • Ltd edition 10" with Isan remix
    Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    This is a lovely limited edition 10" version of 'Losing Places' backed with a superb Isan remix that takes the epic original and stretches it off into infinity. Part two in a limited vinyl series by Amsterdam label The Hooter Listens.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Losing Places / Losing Places (Isan remix) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out



Part 2 in the limited 10" vinyl series from Amsterdam-based The Hooter Listens comes from The Leaf Library, with a thought provoking song about what we do with our time while we are 'here', backed with an incredibly lush remix from Isan, all wrapped up in a fine screen printed sleeve.

Written from the bassline up, ‘Losing Places’ started out as a raw demo with simple guitars, keyboard and the heartbeat of a borrowed Dr Rhythm drum machine. The band call it "An ambivalent hymn to the romance and dislocation of Marc Auge's 'non-places', networks of shiney spaces where movement is the only option and the odd thought that stopping there forever might make you completely disappear."

A track in two parts, the first section skips along under Kate Gibson’s gentle vocals before serpentine guitars weave their way into the mix. As the bass and keyboards take over in the second part the track disappears off down the autobahn, buzzing and droning, fading just as the guitars start to get serious and re-assert themselves again.

Remixers Isan were the first choice of both band and label, each being long time fans of their previous remixes (Seefeel, múm, Depeche Mode, Static, Solvent, Blamstrain, The Notwist) and albums on Morr Music and Static Caravan.


released September 15, 2008

Recorded by Simon Trought at Soup Studio 2007

Matt Ashton - guitar
Kate Gibson - vocals, synth
Gareth Jones - bass
Ben Smith - guitar, synth
Rob Smoughton - drums

Additional production on track two by Antony Ryan and Robin Saville.


all rights reserved



The Leaf Library London

Looping drone pop (and occasional space rock) forever.
Matt, Kate, Gareth, Lewis, Simon, Mel, Dan from North East London (and beyond).

contact / help

Contact The Leaf Library

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Leaf Library, you may also like: